Hexagons Catchup!

Hi! Happy July!

I’m still not actively knitting. Resting, resting, resting my body (mostly wrists and arms). Well, resting them in the sense that I’m not knitting. I can’t get away from typing and writing and other hand-active activities (I made those terms up, could you tell?), because jobs.

But! I have some hexagon pictures to show you from a couple of weeks ago :)

I’m working sloooowly on the Six’es blanket (pattern by Karen S. Lauger). I want it to be as full-sized as possible, so I’m aiming for 189 hexagons. I’m currently at… (drumroll)…

Hex pileup!

75. Oh.

I thought I had way more complete! Look at the height of that hexagon tower! That’s okay – it just means more fun time knitting hexagons in the future. (Also, look at all these crazy yarn tails!)

One million yarn tails

I also had some new yarn to knit hexagons with – I had a birthday a while ago, and was gifted a Knitpicks gift card! Here’s what I chose: four colours of Knitpicks Palette yarn!

New Yarn!

Let’s zoom in a bit closer…

Happy colours

Oh yeah. LOVE those colours! I started with the pistachio green, and then cast on with the royal blue.

Pistachio Half Hex

Pistachio Hex

Cobalt Blue Potential

Blocking, as always, makes a HUGE difference with these little shapes.

Hexa-bath

Ta da!

Hex blocking

Even though this project is super slow going, I’m still enjoying working up these little 6-sided jolts of colourful happy. Hopefully when my body is back in knitting shape I’ll be churning out more of them!

6 thoughts on “Hexagons Catchup!

  1. The Palette Yarn is really quite nice. So many colors to choose from. Your Hexagon Blanket is coming along well. I like to have small projects to knit on when I have a few minutes or to carry along.
    Hope your wrists and forearms continue to improve!!

  2. I can’t imagine not being able to knit or sew. Bummer. We were in Victoria again this past week. Bee Hive Wool shop was as beautiful as ever : ) Are the hexagons your own pattern?

Leave a comment