Cables, cables, everywhere!

I LOVE cables.

Cabled path!

Are you a cable knitter? It’s one of my favourite techniques. I’m not much for colourwork (yet… I’m waiting for that special project that makes my heart go pitter pat.), but texture, especially cables, just thrill me.

A big squishy cabley hug

I’ve made some good progress on my Shepherd sweater, still working on the body section.

Check out my buttonholes, too!

Buttonholes!

 

Did I mention that this yarn is my new favourite? It is. I love it. I know, I’m gushing. This project feels like a once in a lifetime privilege :)

This yarn is my favourite, for real.

19 thoughts on “Cables, cables, everywhere!

    • Thank you! That’s one of the things I like best about knitting – as long as I’m patient, I don’t have to have a lot of spare time ;) One stitch at a time!

  1. I have a love of cables but I hate the time it takes for me to do them. The Habitat Hat took me forever because there’s cabling of some sort on every single row. But I love how they turn out so, for me, it’s worth it :)

  2. My turn to gush: Your Shepherd is PERFECT in every way! I get such a thrill seeing all your neat, coily cables in that luscious yarn. I’ve been working on mine today and taking a coffee break to read about yours. ;)

  3. loved your article in Wovember – I found a wonderful aran sweater made in Ireland at the thrift store which is way too big for me but brought it home and will unravel it as the wool is lovely and authentic – any chance I could get the pattern for the shepherd hoodie – I live in Rosthern, Sk.

    • You know, they’re easier than they look! There’s actually only 3 different cables involved (and 2 are just mirrors of the same cable). Just the same cables repeated over and over with lots of rows of essentially k4, p2 rib in between! :)

Leave a Reply

