I felted!

Have you tried felting? It is MAGICAL. Really, I’m sure there’s a scientific explanation and everything, and to be honest I do understand the rudimentary mechanics of how a wool fiber is shaped and why felting works… but it still seems like total magic to me every time I try it. (Every time I try it on purpose, that is. Felting in the armpits of my sweaters does not feel magical.)

A few days ago, I made a couple of felted dryer balls. I roughly followed this tutorial, and plan to use them instead of fabric softener sheets in my dryer. I find that things get pretty staticky in the winter, otherwise!

I used tightly wound wool yarn to form the base of my felted balls.

IMG_3709

I covered the yarn balls in some leftover bits of wool roving,

IMG_3710

IMG_3711

and then popped them into the leg of a pair of old pantyhose, with tight knots between them and at each end.

IMG_3715

Then I just tossed the whole weird package into the washing machine on hot! After a few washer-dryer cycles, I cut away the pantyhose to reveal…

IMG_3725

Finished felt!

So far they’re working great with my laundry, and they’re not bad looking either! If you’ve never felted, you should totally try it. It’s easy and magical!

8 thoughts on “I felted!

  1. I won a set of felted wool dryer balls and they just don’t work for us. Okay, I take that back. They work on *some* things. Blankets, sheets, and towels are right out. I could throw all five in and it wouldn’t work. Boo. On my general laundry, it works okay.

    Felting, however, is usually pretty magical.

    • Totally understandable! I actually had a really specific reason for making them – I wanted to wash some feather pillows, and The Internet suggested to me that the pillows would dry faster and in a less clumpy way if I added tennis balls or felted dryer balls to the mix. I didn’t really want to buy tennis balls just for that, so I made felt ones instead! :)

Leave a Reply

