Garter Spectrum Stripe Blanket CATCH UP!

Since I last updated my garter stripe blanket progress, well… I’ve made a lot of progress. (Picture heavy ahead!)

I got busy working on the second repeat of the spectrum…

1

I took the blanket with me on the bus, and to work…

2

But then it got a bit unwieldy. So I worked on it at home…

3

And then! I got to the second True Blue stripe! This one felt extra special, because I got to use both the last bits of my own leftover True Blue, and some in the same colourway sent to me by my extremely kind friend Amber :)

4

5

6

7

Then… a calamity. I ran out of navy yarn just three rows away from the end of the stripe.

8

So, I wove in ends for a while, to keep busy until I could pick up more navy yarn.

8.5

LUCKILY, the navy yarn is Berroco Vintage, easily acquired at one of my local yarn stores. Thank goodness it wasn’t a rare hand dye!

photo

Before I picked up more navy, I also started thinking more seriously about the edging for the blanket. I’m going to use some natural, undyed Juniper Moon Farm 100% cormo wool yarn that I happen to have… so I wound that up.

10

It smells aaaaahmaaaaaazing, feels wonderful and lanoliney, and is going to make an amazing edging.

Next time I update, I should be showing you the finished spectrum-ey portion, and be all ready to start the border bits :D

12 thoughts on “Garter Spectrum Stripe Blanket CATCH UP!

  1. “Oh my gooooooodnesssssssssssss!!!!” exclaimed your extremely kind friend Amber. ;)

    As if this whole project wasn’t amazingly gorgeous enough already, that natural border is just going to clinch it! SO EXCITED!

    • Yay thank you! I’m really looking forward to it. And I’m thinking of doing the border bits semi-log cabiney, so that should be fun!! (And THEN i-cord. Still i-cord.)

Leave a Reply

